The Marcos Moshinsky Foundation is a civil association dedicated to support science in Mexico. One of its main initiatives is the Marcos Moshinsky Fellowship Program, which rewards youngscientists who have demonstrated an exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or for creativity in their area of specialization.

The awards are not intended to recognize the end of successful carers, but rather to give an impulse to young scientists whose careers are flourishing. The winners of the Fellowship must beresearchers with high potential and who already have accomplishments. It is expected that at the end of the Fellowship period, they will contribute in an outstanding way to the scientific development of our country.

Each year, the Marcos Moshinsky Foundation will award three Fellowships in physics, mathematics and in the chemical and biological sciences to develop a research project. Thewinners of these Fellowships will be chosen in a rigorous selection process, in which the referees will be recognized scientists.

The Fellowships are a permanent tribute to Marcos Moshinsky´s work, and a life honour for those who are awarded them. We expect that in the following years the Marcos Moshinsky Fellows willform a family with one common objective: to promote and encourage scientific research in Mexico.


Considered as one of the founding fathers of physics in Mexico, Marcos Moshinsky was born on the 20th of April 1921. He received a bachelor´s degree in physics from the National AutonomousUniversity of Mexico (UNAM) and a PhD in the same discipline in Princeton University, working with the Nobel Laureate Eugene Paul Wigner.

When he returned to Mexico, he began a successful career in physics and became the main exponent of nuclear physics in Latin America. In the 1950s, he created a school of young scientists;during his career, Moshinsky supervised more than 20 PhD students and 12 postdoctoral researchers, who came from all over the world to study with him.

For his elegant and original work, Moshinsky received several awards, including the Mexican Award for Science (1968), the Prince of Asturias Award (1988) and the UNESCO Science Price (1997). His work will be remembered as one of the most important chapters of Mexican science.